Remarriage

Requirements:

For two persons to establish a Remarriage in this State, they must be able to provide proof, in the form of a certified copy, that they are currently registered in a Marriage in this State or in another State and meet the requirements of the Marriage Act.

Remarriage requires that the remarriage be between the same two partners as entered into the original Marriage.

Be at least 18 years of age, except that applicants under the age of 18 may enter into a Remarriage with parental consent. Applicants under the age of 16 must obtain parental consent and have the consent approve in writing by any judge of the Superior Court, Chancery Division, Family part. If the Marriage partners entered into their original Marriage within the State of New Jersey they need not re-obtain parental or judicial consent.

Where to apply:

- 1. The Remarriage license application is to be made in the New Jersey municipality in which either party resides and the license is valid throughout the State of New Jersey.
- 2. If neither applicant is a New Jersey resident, submit the application in the municipality where the Remarriage ceremony will be performed, the license is **only** valid in the issuing municipality.

What you should bring with you when you apply for a marriage license:

- 1. Your proof of the original Marriage to the same partner.
- 2. A copy of your birth certificate, driver's license, passport or state I.D.
- 3. Proof of your residency.
- 4. Your social security card or social security number.*
- 5. A witness, 18 years of age or older.
- 6. The \$28 application fee.

Any documents in a foreign language must be accompanied by a certified English translation.

After you apply:

There is no waiting period for a Remarriage License therefore the license can be issued immediately.

^{*}Your social security number is required by law and will be kept confidential.